Rushing to Get Out the Door

I’m used to getting to work early.  I like to be just around 30 minutes early.  I’ve scheduled it into my day.  It gives me some quiet time before my boss comes in to get caught up on work.  And it’s usually when I get the majority of my work done for the day.  I’d rather be early than late.  It allows me to procrastinate before I actually get to work.  Then I don’t feel so horrible the rest of the day.

I wake up early so I have time to lounge around and not rush.  I play games on my phone, take a relaxing shower, play on my phone some more, get ready, and leave with plenty of time.  I’m normally a fast walker, but I don’t like to have to walk fast.  And I usually have time to grab breakfast and coffee on the way to the office.

Being able to have a schedule like this really helps with my anxiety.  It can be a bit stressful realizing what I have to get done in the day, or that my anxiety is out of control and I can take measures to make my day easier.

Since my husband got his new job, we’ve been going to work at the same time.  It’s been nice because it does help my anxiety, but it’s becoming more and more about easing the anxiety he’s created.  He doesn’t quite understand my need to be early.  He says that I’ll be fine and still be early to work.  I understand that I’ll be okay.  And I understand that I’ll still be early to work.  But I’m just trying to do everything in my power to ease my anxiety.  Getting up, leaving, and getting to work early is all part of that.

I just want my husband to understand that.

Leave a Reply

