Just Dance

I don’t watch many dance shows, but I fully admit that I watch So You Think You Can Dance.  I find it to be an interesting concept, but I’m really intrigued by it.  Part of me things it’s a good learning experience for the contestants, but I also think it pushes them in a bad way too.  I am glad to see that they have chosen not to air some of not as good dancers.  Making fun of someone because they’re not what you’d consider “good,” isn’t proper.

I haven’t watched every season.  I think I’ve probably seen less than half.  But of what I have seen, I’m glad the direction in which is evolving.  I vaguely remember the first couple of seasons and see the emphasis be on jazz or lyrical.  But I think now they’re more into “contemporary.”  I use that term loosely though.  When I went to college, we were taught modern.  (Yes, there are different styles of modern dance, but that’s for another time.)  And ballet.  It’s my theory that those who went to get their dance degrees, or at least took college dance classes, are now the ones teaching these very contestants.  We have the foundation that’s heavily based in modern and ballet, and that’s what’s coming out.  And I love it.

This was my choreographic style some 10-12 years ago.  This was how I preferred to express myself.  Actually, this is just how it came out.  There’s freedom and beauty in the movement and technique behind it.

I will admit that it’s sometimes really hard to watch any dance shows.  I love to see people who are passionate about what they do, but it just hurts.  It hurts because that was once my life.  But it can’t be because of injuries.  I can look at these youngsters and see what could have been.  That could have been my life if I had worked harder.  I had a great career.  I just wish it still were my career.  I only have myself to blame for the injuries.  I only have myself to blame for not pursuing dance even further.  I’m still passionate about dance, but I can’t seem to take a class.

Leave a Reply

