The Sound of Music

All of my friends know that my ultimate favourite movie is The Sound of Music.  I don’t know what it is, but I absolutely LOVE it!  I love Julie Andrews and Christopher Plummer.  I think I first saw the movie when I was 3 or 4 years old.  I watched the whole thing, but my dad had to hold me when the Nazi came into the picture.  I was frightened they wouldn’t make it out safely.  I was so relieved when they made it out.

I’ve seen the movie so many times, I can recite it verbatim.  You can give me a line at any part of the movie, and I can keep going from there.  I’m not even kidding.  It’s my go to movie.  Whenever I need a pick me up, or relax, or when I’m mass baking, I’ll put it on.  The story is simple and sweet.

I would sing the songs around the house.  I think at some point, I begged my parents for the sheet music.  I was able to play some of the simpler versions on the piano as I was growing up.  (I think I still might be able to.)  I wanted to be part of a singing family like that.  And it made me very disappointed to find out my mother is tone deaf.  But that didn’t stop me.  Even into my teens, I would normally use a song for any musical theatre auditions.

I think my first talent crush was on Julie Andrews.  I thought she was (and still is!) the bees knees!  She has such talent and poise.  I was so excited to see my first Broadway musical almost 20 years ago, but the icing on the cake was that it was Victor/Victoria with Julie Andrews.  My classmates knew how much I loved her and allowed me to have the ticket closest to the stage.  It was heavenly.

Remembering how much I love The Sound of Music, reminds me that I haven’t seen it in a couple of months.  I think it’s time to pop it in the DVD player and relax.  🙂

Leave a Reply

