Out of my Comfort Zone

Today, I took a HUGE risk for me.

I got a job description from the CEO of the NGO.  I’m fairly pleased with it.  However, I’m not pleased with the title.  It’s more managerial, than administrative, and I want that reflected–in the title and salary.  I would also like to add a few more responsibilities to the job.  (I love doing events and have a fairly easy time putting them together and would love the chance to do more in that arena.)  So, I took a breath and jumped.

I asked her if she would be open for some feedback on the job description and if she had a ball park figure for the salary already in mind.

Now, I’m just waiting for her to reply.

As someone who really doesn’t like to make huge waves, and would rather keep the status quo, and be the peace maker, I feel really proud of myself for being able to ask those questions.  A few years ago, even maybe a few months ago, I probably just would have accepted what she gave me and either declined the position or entered it with resentments.

But you never know what might happen if you don’t try.  And I’m happy I did.  Even if nothing comes of it, I will know that I am able to stand up for myself.  That makes me smile.

 

Edit: She accepted my offer for feedback!  It pays to go outside of my comfort zone!

Leave a Reply

